A big kit splurge

by backpackingbongos

I have been really good for months now and not splashed out on any new kit.  However in the last week I have ordered several items from the internet in anticipation of up and coming backpacking trips.

Last weekend I decided to order the Bush cooker from backpackinglight.  I have always hankered after the Bushbuddy ultra but the price has put me off, along with any potential hassles of extra charges from customs.  I have been using a Clickstand stove for a few years now which is excellent, but last year disaster struck on a backpacking trip when I spilt half of my meths.  If only I had a stove that could burn wood and could still be used with a Trangia burner.  This is why I like the idea of the Bush cooker.  Bob at backpackinglight had sold out of the Bush cooker when I placed my order but stock was due in within a couple of days.  Yesterday I got an email to apologise for the fact that the stoves had been held up at customs, so a few more days of waiting.

At the same time I ordered a Tibetan 1100 Titanium pot which the Bush cooker is meant to fit into well.  Whilst there I also added some tinder card, tick tweezers and a backpacking pillow.

My rucksack always seems to be filled with various plastic bags so decided to order a pack of 4 Exped dry bags.  The weights on the website seem pretty low and they should give me confidence in wet weather that my kit will stay dry.  Finally I treated my Laser competition tent to some Vargo titanium pegs as the ones it was supplied with are frankly rubbish.

Who knows I may even get it together to write some gear reviews!?

Leave a Reply

