A new modified Akto

by backpackingbongos

After my moan about my experiences with my Laser Comp tent, Geoff from vg-backpacking offered to sell me his Akto which he does not use any more.  An internal battle then commenced in my head as I was already the proud owner of one.  However my old one is now over 10 years old and its age is beginning to show a bit, it does not have the upper vent and is on the heavy side at nearly 1800 grammes.  My gear hording tendencies won!

I spent this evening happily trying to pitch a tent on a bit of grass no bigger than a ten pence piece with the neighbours watching.  Although essentially the same as my old model this one felt like a different tent.  For a start it is nearly 300 grammes lighter which I put down to the difference in materials used in the flysheet.  In the old tent the fly is much thicker and has more of a matt finish to it, whilst the newer model has a slicker feel.  The door toggle appears to hold the door open much better as it is at least twice the size, and the guys are much thinner with a different locking mechanism.  Hopefully the upper vent will go some way towards helping with reducing condensation.

The best bit is the modification that Geoff had done to the inner.  He had the rectangular ends replaced with mesh to help with airflow within the inner tent.  Time will tell how much of a difference it will make to condensation but I like the idea of fresh air entering through the ends of the tent.  If I am sealed up in a tent I tend to feel a bit stuffy and claustrophobic and end up having to leave the inner door open, no good if there are midges about.  This should hopefully solve this problem for me.  A better description of this mod can be found here.

Cheers Geoff!

7 Comments to “A new modified Akto”

  1. I agree that the Akto can feel stuffy and the door arrangement is not the best for venting. Mine is still lingering in the garage, having been superceded by the Comp. I may still use it occasionally.

    • wanted ,hi can any one help? am looking for Hilleberg Akto tent update cap over orch door weight 1.5 k.g most be good as new in green please tel me paul from bedford tel 01234 302769 mob 07840428253

  2. I must admit after my last trip to Jotunheimen I am in two minds regarding the Competition, it is light, it does work, but it is a hassle to put up. The Atko is a great alternative, but I am also tempted to gain wait for a tent that will go up easily and i know that I can rely upon when needed. Otherwise I think a tarp and bivy may be the go.

  3. Roger, I was always a fan of the competition when it was in my pack but definately not a fan when trying to put in up in the wind and rain! Always found the Akto to be quick and easy to set up and a alot more stable.
    Just checked out your site, it looks great, I have much reading to do by the looks of it.

  4. How has the full mesh ends worked out?
    Does it make it over drafty?

    • Hi Dexey, the mesh ends have worked pretty well and have not made the tent too draughty. I like a bit of a breeze even when cold as otherwise I find tents get a bit stagnant.

  5. Thanks for the reply

Leave a Reply

