Bothy hunting and new gear in the North Pennines

by backpackingbongos

I am just waiting for the Friday rush hour madness to finish so I can hit the the A1 to the North Pennines.  Hopefully at about 11.00pm I will be curled up in the van on some remote moor listening to the rain.  Have planned a two day backpack with a wildcamp on Saturday night through some very wild and bleak hills.  Being a bit of a bothy fan there are a couple of dots on the map that I want to check out, will probably come to nothing but can never resist checking these things out.  So far I have found 3 really good bothies in the North Pennines tucked away deep in the hills.  Its good to know bothy locations as a backup in the winter months when the weather can turn for the worse.  You can’t beat being in the hills in front of a roaring fire while the weather rages outside.

I also have a few pieces of kit that will be used for the first time.  My catalyst pack is ready and waiting by the front door (a little big for a 1 night lightweight summer backpack but want to use it anyway).  I am going to wear some Flyroc 310’s, never backpacked in them before.  It is going to be pretty wet on the hills and I know my goretex boots will be soaked in a couple of hours.  The Flyrocks should be ideal for splashing through bogs and streams.  The Akto I brought off Geoff will get its first outing, will the mod make a difference?  Finally I have a Whitebox stove which has never been backpacking, hope its good as it is so light!

The weather looks so bad I have even dug my Paramo out!

8 Comments to “Bothy hunting and new gear in the North Pennines”

  1. Have a great time, look forward to the trip and gear report.

  2. yes, have a great time. Bothy hunting is fun especially in areas not normally known for them.

    Pictures! We want pictures!

  3. Find them all here:

    http://www.mountainbothies.org.uk/locationmap.asp

    Lots in North east of England. Have fun.

  4. thats a very useful link Martin,

    cheers for that

  5. Good link but it is not MBA bothies that I am searching for. I am a member of the MBA and I have a nice little handbook with all the details (everyone who uses bothies should really stump up the £20 to join). It is the non MBA ones that are still waiting to be discovered…………..

  6. I know what you mean. Discovering a ramshackle shelter in the middle of no-where is quite a treat. i have even found the odd one with a roof!

    🙂

  7. How did the Catalyst do? Going tomorrow for a two day trip testing the Ohm ^_^

  8. Hi Hendrik the Catalyst did pretty well – will get a post in soon. Enjoy your trip and let us know how it went.

Leave a Reply

