Mountain Leader Training England (MLTE) registration

by backpackingbongos

I have finally done what I have been thinking about doing for a while now, that is to register for the Walking group leader award.  I was torn over whether to register for the Mountain Leader award or the Walking group leader award.  I thought that at this moment in time the walking group leader award would be more relevant for what I plan to do with it and the experience I already have.  I have the opportunity at work to take groups of homeless and vulnerable adults for day walks in the Peak District and was looking for a qualification that will allow me to do that.  There is even the possibility of my employer supporting me with funding or at the very least allowing me time off to do the training and assessment.  Prior to training you need to keep a log book with a minimum of 20 hill walks in uncultivated, non mountainous but remote country (ie moorland, hill and fell).  That is a requirement that I can easily fulfill with my own personal log book going back over 15 years.  So at the moment it is a case of waiting for my logbook and handbook to arrive, filling in the log book with appropriate experience and then applying for a training course.  Can’t wait!

5 Comments to “Mountain Leader Training England (MLTE) registration”

  1. The hostel I work for once said it would fund me doing the ML training. I have done trips to the lakes and Peaks (lots) with residents who are over 18y but not for a while as the lack of further support dried up. I would do the ML now for me and not them. Good luck with it.

  2. I was tempted by the ML course but did not want to bite off more than I can chew! Will see how this one goes and then in the future could use it as a stepping stone towards ML. Its a great feeling being able to take people out and give them the opportunity to have new experience. Hopefully WGL will give me more opportunities to do that.

  3. Does that mean that you *must* have the WGL before you can take them out on day walks?. I’m never quite sure when the arrangement becomes a ‘formal’ one as opposed to a casual decision to go for a walk and ask a few people along.

    I posted a comment on Claire Maxted’s blog (from Trail) about her current ML training (got no response) where I said I was surprised that the prerequisite number of Quality Mountain Days was so low. That’s the requirement before the formal training starts I suppose, so perhaps it’s reasonable.

  4. Geoff, I am really not sure if I must have the WGL before taking people on day walks. Work was ok with me taking out a small group in May around Cromford and Black rocks but not sure how the law as such works (everyone was over 18).

    From the blurb I have read they say a way to get practice after training and before assessment on the WGL is to take groups out in cultivated countryside. I can see the difference taking a group out say in the Derbyshire Dales as compared to Kinder or Bleaklow.

    A few years ago when I was unemployed I did a weekend assessment to become a leader for a walking holiday company. I was accepted with no qualifications but the work was voluntary and the Job centre would not allow me to do it (something to do with being given accomodation and food whilst leading for a weekend). I waited for a while for a centre manager post to come up but alas they folded and later became Saga!

  5. Hi,

    Thanks for this…

Leave a Reply

