Cabin Fever

by backpackingbongos

I am feeling just a little bit sorry for myself at the moment.

Day four with suspected Swine Flu and the Tamiflu seems to be having some sort of effect (or my body is recovering anyway).  Finally dressed and out of bed and my head is no longer in a bucket.  The trouble is that the last four days have probably been the best of the summer.  I want to be on a hill but the best I can manage is a shuffle outside in my slippers.  To make matters worse I decided to pack up the fags today, my lungs can’t cope with flu and fags.  I want to be able to continue skipping up mountains well into my old age.  I got my partner to hide the baccy before going out to work, she hid it well as I still can’t bloody find it.  Deep breath, shuffle, sit.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

7 Comments to “Cabin Fever”

  1. Bad luck, that’s tough. Get well soon.

  2. Get well and well done on given up smoking.

  3. Cheers Guys, although it is only day one on the smoking front – determined to kick it this time!

  4. yes, echo the above. Hope you are up and out soon. I had the piggy-sniffles in June and just happened to be camping in the Brecon Beacons at the time. Needless to say my wife was not impressed as I spent 2 days shivering in a sleeping bag with 25degree sunny weather outside! Luckily mine was not a heavy dose although it took me a few weeks to get over it.
    Good health to you and keep off the fags!

  5. I definately would not fancy camping with the flu – it was all a bit of an ordeal getting to the sofa, let alone out of a tent!
    Day 2 and still without a fag!

  6. Hi James,

    You’ll soon be back on your feet and into the hills.

    A friend and I are off to Evanton in just under two weeks for our version of your coast to coast so perhaps knowing you inspired this might aid recovery?

    Take your time and give your body the time it needs and then get out to enjoy the autumn hills.

    Marcus

  7. Thanks Marcus.

    I have been greatly anticipating your Coast to Coast trip. I hope that it goes well and I have to say that I am jealous that you will be walking through such stunning scenery in a couple of weeks. I listened to your podcast yesterday and enjoyed it, was meant to leave some feedback but got distracted. Will make sure that I do so!

    Back to work tomorrow – 5 days of not leaving the house so may be next to useless!

Leave a Reply

