Fingers crossed

by backpackingbongos

The awful weather of the last few weeks has kept any plans of a backpack firmly simmering away on the backburner.  Finally there is a glimmer of hope with the weather forecast for the hilly bits ‘up north’ looking pretty positive this weekend.  All going well I should hopefully get in just one more backpack before the madness that is Christmas.  Although I have done loads of winter camping before, I very rarely venture out in the tent in November and December as it is dark not long after lunch.  A bit of maths tells me that there is currently a long 16 hours between sunset and sunrise so a big fat book and loads of podcasts should keep me entertained in the dark.  The walking to camping ratio is definitely weighted towards the camping aspect so I am determined to make that part as comfy as possible.  So I have dusted off my faithful Terra Nova Voyager tent which will give me loads of room for a long evening of faffing.  I don’t trust the Neoair to keep me toasty so will also pack my multimat to use as insulation underneath.  Add to that more food to graze on whilst staring at the stars and my pack is going to be a fair bit heavier that I am used to.  I can’t wait to slide into my new PHD sleeping bag plus I have a brand new camera to play with.

The plan is to have one last look at the weather forecast when I get home from work tomorrow and then pack my rucksack.  If I pack now someone will notice and make it rain again!  I can’t wait to set foot on those steep velvety slopes in between the Lakes and the Dales.

Fingers crossed there is the sort of weather that will make my tent look like this (although I hope it is not quite as cold as when this photo was taken!)  If the weather is good everyone get out and make the most of it……………………………..

10 Comments to “Fingers crossed”

  1. Guess you’ll be heading for the Howgills then! I envy you, its prime backpacking terrain. Unfortunately I’m working on saturday or I’d be out somewhere myself.

  2. Your correct there! They are a great compact range of hills, the perfect size for a weekend backpack. Good to test the leg muscles on some steep ascents and descents! Hopefuly you can get out soon.

  3. Thats good to know Woody as I am looking forward to getting a good couple of days of solitude.

  4. Ah, someone else going through the same pain as me! I’ve had a backpack packed for the last three weeks waiting for the perfect weather window (I should have gone on the first weekend when the weather was ‘just ok’). Sunshine forecast for this weekend over here too. Fingers and everything else crossed! Winter is the only time I pack a book, iPod and pillow, it’s a long time to be cooped up. It’s getting dark here not long after 15.30 already…

  5. I too am keeping an eye on the weather that seems to be a bit more optimistic in a few days time, then again even a middling forecast looks good these days.
    The Howgills are great for backpacking, very few people except for the approaches to The Calf from Cautley Spout and Sedbergh. Good training for the legs, especially if you cut across the range like I did.

  6. Same here. last day at work tomorrow but I’ve got stuff to do over the weekend then I’m off 🙂 To the Lakes :))

  7. Good luck everyone, I imagine its going to be very boggy.

    I guess we can rely on you for a good report from the Howgills. im looking forward to it, havn’t been yet.

  8. Joe it is definately frustrating when you are looking forward to getting out and the weather is not playing ball. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you that the suns stays out in your part of the world – looks like our sunset is only 30 mins behind.

    Geoff I have to admit to using your route for inspiration as part of my walk crosses from Hooksey to Uldale head. That bit will be testing on the legs with lots of ups and downs. I will be happy if the wind does not blow me over and the tops are clear!

    Enjoy your trip to the Lakes Baz – where are you headed?

    I’m sure that it will be a bit squelchy out there Boyzie. The Howgills are great, you should check them out.

  9. I’m heading for a tromp around Haystacks I believe…

Leave a Reply

