Birthday Bongos

by backpackingbongos

I am pleased to say that Backpackingbongos has survived a full year!  A year ago today I took a tentative step and published my first post.  The aim of this blog has been to share my love of wild places whilst keeping a personal journal of my trips.

I have amazed myself by keeping the blog going, although I have to admit that I am not the most regular of bloggers.  I have however managed what I set out to do and record all of my trips, with even a few mutterings on gear thrown in.  What has really surprised me is that there are actually people out there reading what I am writing, to you I would like to say a big thankyou.  To those that have commented, an even bigger thankyou.  Positive feedback makes it easier to continue and write the next post.  I can’t believe that there have been just under 27,000 page views in the past year, I would have been happy with 100!

Well what has been my highlight of the past year in the great outdoors?  It has to be the Coast to Coast walk I did with Rich last April, from Evanton to Ullapool.  Six days walking through some of the best scenery Scotland has to offer with great company in good weather.  Day four was particularly memorable.  We awoke to clear blue skies at the very remote bothy at Glenbeg, climbed the very remote Munro Seana Bhraigh and spent that night in the equally remote Coiremor bothy.  I used the word remote three times as it really defines what is important to me on a backpacking trip.  The fact that we were walking through sublime landscapes was even more of a bonus.

‘Enjoying the view from the summit of Seana Bhraigh’.

I hope that I can bring you many more backpacking tales during the second year of Backpackingbongos!

17 Comments to “Birthday Bongos”

  1. Looking forwards to a second productive year!

  2. well done James! A great blog and the popularity is well deserved. Keep it going….!

  3. Keep up the good work James, I always the enjoy the write ups on locations that are a less popular.

  4. Alway enjoy you wriite ups and as Richard said the place you seem to go are not obvious places. Certainly helped me add places to my “I must go there” list. Thanks

  5. Wowser, is it just a year? Feels like forever – in a good way!

    Here’s one for you James, I’m not the only one who liked your Evanton to Ullapool crossing so much that I copied it, I’ve been contacted by my friends the Germans for the details too. Good work!

  6. Congratulations, James! Here’s to another successful year, many interesting trips to remote locations and some nice gear talk interspersed between them.

    Kiipis!

  7. Well done James, keep up the good work!

  8. Happy birthday – thank you for such great trip reports! Keep it up.

  9. Happy birthday

  10. Been a great year following your blog. Well done and keep it coming.

  11. Thanks everyone one for your kind comments!

  12. A whole year?. Yet another indicator of time passing at relativistic speed, oh dear!.
    Looking forward to more reports in 2010.

  13. I look forward to getting out and having our travels documented once my darn leg gets better!
    Happy Bongo Birthday xxx

  14. Well done James, you have excelled over the past year. Keep it up!

  15. Geoff and Martin, many thanks.

    Rich get your leg better soon and we will be in the hills once more!

  16. Thanks for providing plenty of good reads over this last year James.
    Hope the weather is kind and permits numerous walking opportunities for you to write about during your second year.

  17. Thanks alot Paul and good weather would be a bonus this year. I have to say that I continue to enjoy your photos and write ups.

Leave a Reply

