Another body part fails me

by backpackingbongos

Damn it I am not even forty yet and my body is beginning to fall apart.  I have suffered the indignity of an underactive Thyroid gland for a while now which basically means that hills are starting to look much bigger than they did a couple of years ago.  One side effect being a new comedy belly which has made me start thinking about doing some sit up type things to make it go away.  Bit of a catch 22 because a major symptom is trying to muster up energy to get up off my arse.  It’s not that long ago that I was a wild eyed eight stone dreadlocked creature that ate hills for breakfast.  I now seem to spend more time looking at the view than eating up the miles…….

…..except that those hills have been looking just a little bit blurred of recent.  The optician has told me that I need to wear some sort of contraption on my face that stops things looking blurry.  Can’t remember what she called them now but they probably make me look like this…..

Although I am sure my partner will actually see this……

5 Comments to “Another body part fails me”

  1. 44 this year for me. The hills seem fine to look at but maps seem to be harder to read and books as well. I need a trip to the opticians as well. Age is unavoidable James wait till you hit forty. Then we Norfolk boys seems to age well 🙂

  2. Eight stone with dreadlocks? How much did you weigh without?

  3. Hey Martin !,

    I’m 44 as well. Are you a 1966’er? Having been born in the year that In-ger-land won the World Cup I wonder if I’ll die the next time they win – you know, bit like Mark Twain and Halley’s Comet – if so, I should live to a ripe old age at this rate.

  4. Martin, ahhh the limited gene pool of East Anglia!

    Pete, I weighed the dreads when they were finally hacked off 12 years ago, they came in at over half a kilo. Unfortunately they also smelt like a wet dog.

  5. 1966 indeed Pete. Norfolk lad as well. Hence the banter with James who comes from the East but a bit where there is a town unlike the fine City that is the capitol of East Anglia and Norfolk 🙂 As for the wold cup lets move on. I am soooo angry still I need a walk to calm down.

Leave a Reply

