Packaging

by backpackingbongos

Today I received an expensive pair of underpants, but more about my pants another time.  No what struck me apart from how small they are is the stupidly excessive amount of packaging that they came in.  I have seen pants on a hanger and even pants wrapped in plastic but never encased in 124 grammes of very shiny glossy cardboard (yes I was so cross that I was sad enough to weigh it).  First there is the what looks like an oversized VHS case, this then slides into a slightly bigger VHS type case with two extra fold out flappy bits.  Then to make matters worse every spare inch is covered in the most over hyped marketing bullshit that I have ever had the misfortune to read.  Apparently they are, “Close fitting with a stimulating effect”.  How they are going to stimulate me I hate to think, maybe that is why they are so expensive?  Apparently they also make wearing a backpack easier which is nice to know.  There is even a little graph showing how they will resist bacterial growth.  Then there is the picture of a guy wearing the garment who I am sure is massively out of proportion in the trouser proportion.  I now feel a little inadequate.

Hopefully the pants will be nice, I will wear them for 3 days without removing them this weekend on a backpack.  I may even draw a graph with the amount of bacteria that is found afterwards.  If you are really lucky you may even get a review which is truly pants…………..

Oh by the way the culprit is X Bionic.

Now to get a photo of me wearing them, they look great with my comedy belly.

10 Comments to “Packaging”

  1. Har har har! Woohoo! What a larf! It’s almost worth the terminal despoilation of the planet’s resources for your highly amusing rant. Not quite though. You would think manufacturers – and consumers for that matter – might put two and two together and realise that thewonderful natural enviroment you’re out walking in in your lovely ergonomic wicky-nicks is the same wonderful natural environment we’re bleeding dry and then choking-up with so much waste. It’s criminal.

    That said, wicky-nicks changed my life! Lowe dryflo knickers are reasonably priced, do the job and give good mileage. I don’t remember them being over-packaged, but then there’s quite a lot I don’t remember these days (too much loud punk rock and associated stimulants in youth I fear).

  2. From your picture it looks like you also get some nice bonus thermographic imaging. How thick is the user manual?

  3. Pete I do like a nice little rant every now and then, makes me feel much better in this ludicrous world in which we live. I needed some good wicky-nicks as my last pair were next to usless after that wet walk in Wales. Just one word there Chafe. Punk rock? Goth was the way to go back in my days……………

    Graham the manual is 720 pages long, I am on chapter 7 which describes how to take them out of the box.

  4. Goth?! But didn’t you used to have dreads?! I can see that the world of leftfield youth cultures could be a bit confusing growing up in Norf… er Suffolk.

    • Ahh but Pete goth came before the ‘crustie’ youth culture of the early 90’s which I defected to. I could not have got away with purple dungerees and thinking the Levellers were cool in my Goths days. I hasten to add that I no longer wear purple dungerees or think that the levellers are cool anymore. I just wear comfy wicky-nicks and look forward to a nice sit down. That is the new cool.

      Not being a farmer means that you are part of a leftfield counter culture in the east of anglia.

      What has happened to all the Goths now anyway?

  5. I like Goths. You still see small knots of them hanging around dormitory towns, wondering what to wear in summer. Wicky-nicks of course! If Goths opted for wickable fabrics they could still dress head to toe in black even at the height of summer.

    The Levellers are old mates from Brighton, I used to go to all their early gigs with them in their van. I never managed to really like their music, but it were a right laff.

  6. Nothing wrong with comedy bellies! They’re usually a sign of good times!

  7. Thank God they packaged them so sensitively – what you’ve failed to appreciate is that these pants are extremely fragile and complicated to use – hence the packaging and marketing information. Without it, how could you possibly be expected to understand how to use them?? One leg in then ANOTHER leg – it’s complicated stuff. Also, can you imagine how you’d have reacted if they arrived with a crack or fissure caused by bouncing around in transit? It’s not like they’re made of, say, fabric…

    I’m completely with you – packaging these days is nuts. Plastic bag and small hanging tag – that’s all we need – not some ridiculous box. Its CLOTHES for crying out loud.

    Nice blog – Hendrik got me here and I like the layout. Hope you don’t mind me looking around and commending a bit…

    • Hi Maz. You really have to handle these pants very very carefully as they are technical, very technical! Luckily I managed to put one leg in each hole although I did wonder why there was two holes to start with. Cheers for the comment, looks like I have lots of comments from you to read. Just back from a backpack so stuff to read whilst I am at work in the morning! Looks like you have a good blog too, will sort out a link tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

