Tarptent – new invisible seam sealing technique?

by backpackingbongos

Good news yesterday when I got home from work, a card from Parcel force saying that there was something waiting for me at my local post office.  A quick visit this morning confirmed that my replacement Scarp1 flysheet had arrived.  I had escaped the customs and Parcel force handling charge this time round.

A cursory glance before setting off for work and the stitching appears to be ok on this one, although a pitch in the garden or on a hill is the only real way to confirm this.  But of course there had to be something that made me unhappy.  When emailing Henry from Tarptent I had requested that he seal the seams for me, I thought that this was only fair considering the hassle of receiving a faulty fly.  To this I received this reply: I shipped you a new (correct) one yesterday. I seam-sealed it for you so it’s ready for use. Now, either my eyes are completely failing me or Tarptent use some sort of new invisible sealant that is also unidentifiable by touch.  From what I can see not one single seam has been sealed, not even a tinsy winsy little bit.  Obviously not that happy about that, I will email Henry to see what has been done.

Anyway another little Tarptent rant over, it’s a real shame as there were other products of theirs that had been interesting me.  Fingers crossed all will be all ok when I pitch it in the garden later this week.  I suppose I will need to get an order in for some sealant and hope for a sunny day.

Update:

I received an email from Henry at Tarptent today saying that he did seal the seams for me and said that it is very very feint, just enough to seal the threads.  I still can’t see it but will take his word for it, a spot of rain will be the best way of checking that out!  Fingers crossed I will have it pitched on a mountain this weekend.

An update of this update:

I have pitched the Scarp in the garden this afternoon to check that all is ok.  When the light is just right I can see very light brush strokes across the seams and along the pole arch.  So the answer is yes, Tarptent do use invisible seam sealing techniques!  I did notice however that there are tiny little holes at the corners of the ventilation loops on the roof, just where the stitching ends.  I dabbed a bit of neat Silnet inside and outside the tent on those spots.  Hopefully that will do the trick.

Tags: ,

11 Comments to “Tarptent – new invisible seam sealing technique?”

  1. If he thinned it with mineral spirit it might look like nothing has been done. You would not see anything that hints of sealant on my DuoMid for example but it is sealed as I did it and no rain gets in. Ask him again to double check.

  2. That’s disappointing. I used McNett seam sealant on mine. Get the one with the small brush.

  3. Martin makes a fair point, if it’s been sealed by thinning silicone sealer with white spirit you might not see it unless you look very closely, that’s how I re-sealed my tent and apart from where the mix had started to thicken you could hardly tell it had been done. It’ll look nothing like it would if you simply applied sealer straight from the tube which is a bad way to do it as it rather than penetrating the seams/stitching it sits on the surface and rubs off.

    On the other hand maybe it hasn’t been done and that would be a shame, to mess up (pretty badly) by sending out a fly that was so obviously faulty could be considered unfortunate, to mess up again wouldn’t be too clever (to put it mildly)

  4. Robin, I think that is the one I will go for seems easy to buy.

    Martin / Mac – I have got the tent within inches of my face and examined the seams about as closely as I can get without going cross eyed! The stitching itself looks like naked thread,not even the slightest hint that anything has been applied. Fair point it could well have been done but if it has he has done an amazing job on it. I will ask him.

  5. Ron Bell supplied some McNett seam sealer with my Duomid. Good service! The Silnylon on the Duomid seems better quality than the Scarp. Worth reading the MLD website on what has happened to Silnylon supplies recently. Makes you less confident about the waterproofness of Silnylon stuff sacks for instance. There was certainly no evidence of misting in my Scarp when I was in the Lakes and it tipped down for 12 hours!

  6. Hope it all works out in the end, have a good weekend. Not sure if I should hope for rain on your behalf or not 🙂

  7. Robin it is good to know that there was no misting in your Scarp when in the lakes, fingers crossed will be the same for mine……

    Mac, sunny days and a wet night would be good. Not too wet though.

  8. My Scarp was seam sealed by Tarptent. Whilst it was a very light coating, it was pretty clear that it had been done (the fact that it was all stuck together was additional indicator). Anyway, I doubt very much you’d not be able to make out any sign of sealant what so ever.

  9. any more thoughts on/tests in the scarp? am looking at their 2 seater version…..

    • Hey Dave
      I just used the replacement Scarp1 for the first time this weekend, so just the one outing to go on so far. I can say that it is definately the best tent I have used in wind so far. With the extra poles it simply shrugged off the gusts whilst my friends Akto was flapping away. However it did leak at the seams on the pole a bit so I need to investigate and seal the seams properly. I think that I need to use a bit more before giving recommendations!

Leave a Reply

