The shortest commute

by backpackingbongos

A bit of a strange day today.  To get to work I got up, got dressed, made a cup off coffee and then went back upstairs and switched on my computer!

To reduce our overheads at work we have switched to virtual working, which basically means working from home using a virtual server.  It’s going to be a bit strange not going to the office everyday.  I will have to resist the temptation to sit around in my underpants!

At least I now have a dog for company.

4 Comments to “The shortest commute”

  1. Well, you’ve backpacked in your pants before now, so why not. Just remember to put some trews on before answering the door. I’d make sure that your trust in Reuben is complete, also.

    It’ll be just like being a feckless freelancer, like yours truly. Having to take Reuben out for walkies will prevent you from becoming a house/computer-bound hermit. This is a good thing.

  2. James, I work from home when not out and about traveling the UK. I have done this for 17 years and I think it would be difficult to do work any other way now. I love working from home during the summer, with a chance to work outside when it is sunny !
    Just remember to try and get the right work/life balance, – I have never. I always spend more time than I ought to in front of my laptop.
    Good luck !

  3. I’ve always found it hard to work from home – I suppose getting my ‘game face’ on requires a train, a suit and a commute. Good luck to you, mate. It’s pleasant stuff, regardless of productivity…

  4. Pete I wish that I had somewhere more interesting to take the dog for his twice daily walkies. It takes me 10 mins to walk to the woods with 10 mins in the woods and 10 mins walking back home again. He likes it though! Monday morning I will log on to my work pc wearing only my pants. Because I can.

    Can’t wait till the summer to work at home Mark. Fingers crossed the company will last till then. Otherwise I will be a very poor man of leisure.

    It should be good Maz, just a change in attitude and keeping myself motivated.

Leave a Reply

