Adidas Men’s Terrex Seamless Trail Running Shoes

by backpackingbongos

For me there is something pleasantly old school about the name Adidas, bringing back images of the retro trainers of my youth.  They sometimes reissue their retro models, perfect for knocking around at work,  although perhaps not what you would choose for the hills.  I did not even realise that they did outdoor footwear until Robin mentioned on his blog that he had purchased a pair of Adidas Terrex Fast X FM Mid GTX boots.  Despite sounding like a dodgy radio station they looked to be pretty good.  Therefore I was pretty keen to test their running shoe counterpart, the Adidas Terrex seamless trail running shoe (another mouthful of a name) from Webtogs.

Now I have to admit that I have sat on the fence for a long time on the debate of whether running shoes are suitable for walking hills and mountains.  Some people swear by them whilst others are vehemently against them.  I have hill walked in Inov-8’s a couple of times and thought they were ok, but ended up wearing them out walking to and from work instead.  Time to give running shoes another go in the wet and boggy hills.

It is good to see that the Terrex has the usual Adidas three stripes down the sides, made of a rubbery plastic.  The blurb from the manufacturer says that they feature a seamless upper, this basically means that there is no stitching.  How this will affect their long-term durability I don’t know, lets just hope that the welding / gluing is up for the job.  The main thing I noticed was the speed lacing, something that I was not overly keen on when I first got them, preferring good old-fashioned laces.  However they work really well enabling me to get a good snug fit and the toggle has not slipped in use yet.  The toggle tucks away nicely under the lace bungee.  The sole is a sticky rubber, being much shallower than say an Inov-8 shoe, I initially thought that this would be an issue, more about their grip in a bit.

The Terrex are on the narrow side which suits my feet perfectly.  I struggle to find footwear that does not feel like I am wearing oversized wellies.  Although narrow they do give room for my toes to wiggle a bit.  The heel cup is pretty firm and although low grips my heel well.  The inner has a small amount of light padding throughout making them instantly comfortable, but would this make them like a sponge in the wet?

The Terrex have been on my feet for four-day walks over the last month, three on Dartmoor and one on the Dark Peak.  Being February / March this means only one thing, boggy!  The walks ranged from 8 to 11 miles.  Compared to say an Inov-8 they are fairly well cushioned under foot, although to start with they felt a little too firm under my heel.  You can still feel stones etc on tracks but with a nice spring to your step.  The padded upper with a tough outer means that you do not feel a breeze like you do with other running shoes.  This made them nice and warm for mild winter days.  They are definitely not waterproof, although they do shrug off water unless they are submerged for more than a couple of seconds.  I wear then with Smartwool socks and when they first let water in it is unpleasantly cold, however your feet soon warm up again (unless sloshing though bogs for a couple of hours!).

The photos below were taken whilst walking the Derwent moors in the Peak District.  The conditions under foot being tracks, muddy paths and open waterlogged moorland.  They were comfy and cushioned on the track and gave good grip on the wet clay like mud ascending Abney Clough.  My feet only got a little damp sloshing through the muddy puddles.  However once on the wet exposed moors my feet were wet in seconds and were cold until back on dry grass where they warmed up again.  Grip was good on the descent of a muddy bridleway.  I did feel that the grip was not particularly good when scrambling around on the wet rock of the Dartmoor Tors.  I would not feel confident wearing them on rocky mountains.

Whilst on Dartmoor I alternated them each day with my Salomon Fastpackers which were both filled with bog and water.  These would be almost completely dry two days later whilst the Salomons would be just as wet as when I had taken them off.  They are definitely going to be on my feet in the hills over the coming summer and I am going to have a go backpacking in them next month.  If they do well I may even consider them for the TGO challenge.

The weight for a pair of size 9’s is 730 grammes.

They can be purchased directly though Webtogs here, currently on sale for £56.25.

Tags: ,

14 Comments to “Adidas Men’s Terrex Seamless Trail Running Shoes”

  1. I like the idea of lightweight footwear for in the heels; don’t think I could do without the ankle support though. How does the lack of ankle support interact with your knee situation, James?

  2. Bugger! Obviously I meant ‘in the hills’ rather than ‘in the heels’. Freudian arse over tit…

  3. look good these, but am on fence as well, wanting to step down from leather boots but still needing security of ankle support. It seems you can’t buy mids without gtx in the UK, which is a dilemma for the summer. What do you use the rest of the year James, I know the fastpackers gave you trouble earlier in the year?

  4. I have a pair of fell running shoes, which I use whenever I can be bothered to go fell running. But for walking/backpacking I much prefer leather boots. It’s not the ankle support per se, more the way in which my foot is securley held in place. I’ve yet to have a blister with my Scarpa’s, even on multiple 20 mile days. Also my Scarpa’s are made of very stern stuff (actually, it appears not, but I need to rant about that one on my blog) and feel like they’d outlast my Salomon’s any day.

  5. I still think the best support for an ankle is to allow it to move in a natural way as possible. Hence why I use trail shoes. They look good shoes James. Two weeks walking on the Challenge needs footwear that dries fast. They should fit the bill.

  6. Pete, it has probably been at least three years now since I wore ‘proper’ walking boots. I used to turn my ankle much more in high boots, still do it occasionally but not half as much. You walk differently placing your foot more carefully rather than just ploughing through everything. I think that knees are affected more by how footwear fits rather than how high the ankle cuff is, depends if you pronate or not, not sure if I do. Superfeet footbeds are meant to help with this but cost between £40 and £70 depending on which ones you get. Spuggy ankles? sounds like a cruel playground nickname…………….

    David it does seem odd that there is a distinct lack of mids without linings. I have been using the Fastpackers for about 18 months now and before that got through 2 pairs of Salomon Elios. The Fastpackers have been excellent except the grip in wet sloppy conditions. It’s a shame because they are so damn comfy and is like walking in your favourite slippers! They are coming to Rum in a couple of weeks as I am too skint to buy anything new at the moment!

    Its good that we all have different preferences northernfall, otherwise there would just be one style of boot on offer. I still have my monster Asolo’s and they make my feet ache by simply looking at them!

    That is my thinking Martin, I want something that will dry out if they get wet, nothing worse than lined boots than get wet inside. Still working on my ankles and wearing running shoes does strenghen them.

    • ‘Spuggy’ appears to be northern slang for ‘sparrow’ – a couple of my, ahem, mates think I have comically delicate ankles. Interesting theory with the boot/trainer walking technique, i wear trainers on non-pointy hills in summer, but maybe I’ll give it a go in the winter/pointy hills context at some point.

      • You need to sack your mates Pete. Obviously Rich and myself will spend the whole week garnishing you with complements.

  7. just ordered last pair of inov8 370’s in the country, a half size up from usual – they may go back! I agree with you and martin in principle, and have a pair of 315’s which are great on day walks…but coming from big stompy meindls am nervous to do backpacking in these, as foot requires more training before I make the leap. need a middle ground, somehow. Am guessing this maybe where a few people are.

  8. An interesting review, James. I’d certainly consider those shoes for summer day walks and… running?! But for backpacking I’m one of those who prefers dry feet, and on challenging ground such as the descents from some Scottish mountain tops I find the extra stability provided by more substantial footwear a great comfort.

  9. They look good Dave, I have eyed them up since they came out but not sure what they would be like. I look forward to reading a review on your blog once they have hit the hills.

    Running Martin? That sounds a bit like hard work to me. I have always found that Goretex lined boots let the water in after a couple of days on the hills and then never dry. I don’t think I will be using running shoes on the mountains just yet. On my impending trip to rum I will be taking my battered pair of mids.

  10. James, I struggle with my Innov-8’s They feel instantly comfortable, but often after a few miles, the soles of my feet start to heat up and are then uncomfortable. I much prefer trail shoes, I think I my favorites are TNF Hedgehogs, but even these seem to be a problem after a number of miles. I think I will go to a Podiatrist for an analysis of my feet. I like the look of these Adidas, like you I have narrow feet , so should be suitable for me. I will be interested in your comments after the TGO.

    Another brand of sports shoes that have trails shoes are Nike (ACG). I found some heavily discounted in an outlet store in Colorado a couple of years ago, they feature a Nike air sole and are light and comfortable, but they squeak like hell so I have never worn them much. As I go on business to the USA every year , I look around for bargains, I purchased some Nike Air for the gym, but I would be interested to know whether anyone is using this type of shoe for backpacking, I ask this as they so comfortable. James, I have not been able to spend much time looking at blogs recently, so I have some catch up on your site. Expect some comments to older posts !!
    Mark

    • Hi there Mark. The Adidas are great for narrow feet, it gets rarer each year for manufacturers to cater for a snugger fit. Not heard of anyone using Nike Air for backpacking, what is the sole like iin terms of grip? Anyway I hope that you manage to find some time to get out into the hills soon.

Leave a Reply

