A knee testing backpacking jaunt

by backpackingbongos

All being well I am off tomorrow for a quick backpacking jaunt to the Yorkshire Dales.  It has suddenly occurred to me that the TGO challenge is now less than a month away and I am a rather unfit and unhealthy backpacker!  My knee has slowly been improving since the trip to Rum and I want to test it out over a few miles with a pack on my back.  A short 7 or 8 miles tomorrow after the journey up to get the body working again.  On Saturday I have got a 14 to 15 mile day planned, the average length of my challenge days.  I need to get used to that sort of distance pretty quickly.  Sunday is my birthday and not wanting to be billy no mates on the day I will just do a few miles so I can get home for some pampering (Corrina if you are reading this?).

Anyway the spare room is a chaos of strewn about gear (just discovered my down slippers have gone mouldy after Rum) and the dog is eager for his walk.

Have a good weekend folks, hope that you manage to hit the hills yourselves.

8 Comments to “A knee testing backpacking jaunt”

  1. So, you’re 39 on Sunday then, Mr Boulter? Have a cracking weekend and we’re all looking forward to hearing positive news about your knee…

  2. Have a good trip, hope the knee behaves its self.

  3. Have a good trip James. I’ll be starting from Borrowdale, just as you return home from the Dales.

  4. Indeed 39 years young Pete, fingers crossed for good weather and a happy knee.

    Cheers Al, lets hope the knee is as good as gold!

    Have a great time in Borrowdale Martin, are you backpacking?

  5. good luck 2m0 and happy birthday for sunday sir! we’re off to the lakes too, 4am start – ooch. imagine my knees are gonna wobble a bit for the first couple of days too. looking fwd to the ‘chally’ posts already

    • Thanks Dave. A 4am start is pretty enthusiastic I have to say, enjoy your time in the Lakes and I look forward to the write up when you return.

  6. Hope the knee is ok – and happy birthday to you!

Leave a Reply

