28 days later

by backpackingbongos

Being a backpacking blog I’m not going to do a post on how to survive the zombie apocalypse, although 28 days later is one of my favourite films.

Nope, 28 days relates to the amount of time I have managed not to have a crafty fag.  Actually to be precise, as I write this the exact amount of time is 28 days, 5 hrs and 23 minutes.  Not that I’m counting…………..

It’s the third time now that I have been through this, the first time I lasted for a year, the second time for two years.  Third time lucky eh?

It’s tough going I have to say and I am still struggling not to punch people in the face for the slightest misdemeanour, I’m constantly on the prowl for a good argument and feel ridiculously grumpy.  Fingers crossed this phase may pass, or it could just be a symptom of getting older?

My fingers are crossed that I can do a sequel post called 28 weeks later.  That was also a cracking film.

28 days, 5 hrs and 31 minutes now…………………………

30 Comments to “28 days later”

  1. It’s life, Jim…

    Well done. Are you noticing any difference getting up hills with the new fresher lungs? I suppose that might take a little while longer yet.

    You must be saving a small fortune. Good call.

  2. Funnily enough since I have given up smoking I have had two colds and my lungs feel like they are full of crap. I hope to hit the Peak District on Sunday, so fingers crossed I will be powering up those hills!

    I was a dirty roll up smoker, so cost was never really an issue. I just have to avoid smokers at the moment so I don’t get tempted back into bad habits.

  3. I have stopped smoking cigs since April, just a few day at first to basically none since July. I’m cheating though,I’ve moved to ecigs so I’m still a nicotine addict but minus all the unpleasant shit that goes into tobacco. The difference is…incredible, tastebuds and smell is much improved, no more coughing/spitting gunk in the morning and my lung capacity has shot through the roof. I scared myself going up Snowdon a month ago when I thought I was not breathing properly on a low gradient ascent before realising there was no need for heavy breathing through the mouth, all the oxygen I needed was coming through my nose…

    Right now I’m “vaping” a greengage scented mix, I’ve got zillions of flavours to choose from. All for rather less money than the dirty weed. There might be a snag in 20 years when long-term effect is found to be detrimental to your health but short term, it’s all benefit (a few studies back this anecdotal evidence up).

    If it does not work out, give me a shout and I’ll give you a few pointers. If you can switch from trail shoes to leather boots then you have the necessary adaptability to go from fags to ecigs 😉

    • Nice one for getting off the Tobacco Yuri. I did think about trying the ecigs, but in the end I thought that it would have to be ‘all or nothing’. Looking forward to getting up a hill without nearly passing out!

  4. James – Best of luck with this one – one of the most difficult things in the world, but you knew that. It is all good.

  5. I feel your pain…well done! I do hope you manage to kick the habit for good. With me, it’s cutting back on coffee, and I sympathise about wanting to pick a row with everyone I meet. As you say though, I think it could be my age..lol.

    • Hi Iain. I managed to kick the caffeine habit a couple of years ago, ended up with headaches for a week or so. Still drink the odd proper coffee now and again and it is like taking party drugs, you dont realise how strong the stuff is when you drink it every day!

  6. I reckon you’ve done it this time JB. You just need to tell yourself you HAVE given up for GOOD and there you are, you’ve done it! Good work. I think the colds and stuff are part and parcel of giving up, you’ll feel the benefits increasingly in the weeks and months to come.

    • Fingers crossed Pete that I can crack it, bloody tough though. You were the lucky person who got to spend a week with grumpy pants only a week into the withdrawals!

  7. Well done, keep it up! Might try giving up chocolate one day – that’s hard enough for me, can’t imagine how difficult it would be to give up ciggies. If you’re round Hayfield after your wander on Sunday feel free to call in for a brew and meet Dixie. (If you e-mail me I’ll give you our address.)

  8. Keep it going – you can beat this thing. I had a puff on a cigarette when I was 9, made me puke and I’ve never touched one since. I do have a very occasional habit of puffing on cigar when I’ve drunk too much – I don’t know how to smoke so I look a complete idiot!

  9. Keep it up, you deserve all the encouragement and praise you get. Once you’re all cleaned out you’ll fly up them hills it’ll feel like you’ve no pack on at all!

  10. Re caffeine James, one of my eliquids is “doppio espresso”, not only you got a great coffe taste but as well as the nicotine, it contains caffeine. It’s the perfect morning smoke whilst waiting for the late tram… 😉

  11. Stopping smoking is easy – I did it loads of times. Eventually it gets better, but I can still detect fag smoke e.g. in a car going the otyher way down a nbarrow road, from inside my car with the windows shut.
    Nicotine chewing gum used to make me very happy, though. Its great stuff….

    • My nose at the moment seems to have developed the ability to sniff out fag smoke from a mile away. Maybe I could just go and stand outside pubs and passive smoke instead?

  12. James, took me three times to stop. I have not smoked since 1986. I found staying out of pubs because fags and drink go together was helpful . Going down the gym and cycling a lot would make me feel that I shouldn’t have a cigarette otherwise I would have undone all my hard work.

    I think most of it is in the mind and if you can sort that bit out, then you can give up for good.

    Good luck with it 🙂

  13. Well done, James. Keep on, keeping on… and think about how much easier it will be to get up the hills (once you’re over the colds).

  14. well done that man – a month is a result! I stopped just since christmas, from age 12, man and boy ;P Its hard, especially when you get ill immediately. I had a tiny thin rollie from my mate the other week up north in a moment of pub based weakness, and it was horrible. Waste of time….I hate being dependent too. Won’t do it again. Don’t need them anymore. It gets easier – you’re always a smoker, but it gets easier psychologically. Think of how much healthier you are to be around for the loved ones too (after the moods subside of course 😉

  15. I go with the philosophy that once a smoker, always a smoker. Once you quit your a smoker who does not smoke, probably does not make sense to others though. I managed to go to a party last night and stood in front of a bonfire next to someone smoking a fine roll up. I managed to resist even with a beer in my hand. I think that its all in the mind from here on.

    • Yep,you are right there.My record for giving up is 5 years and was ended by a trip into Shenavall for a week in winter.I thought of the long nights in front of the fire and that was it.Into Ullapool and loaded up with fags 🙂
      Just back from Spain and I admit to bringing through enough to last past Xmas.!
      I wish you the best of luck and the odds are in your favour now after a month 🙂

      • Five years is a long long time. I was worried about spending a week in a bothy with Pete without any fags, luckily he lived to tell the tale. I made do with the whisky he took along.

  16. Congratulations – a month is a major achievement. Psychologically, I think that the habit of smoking is woven deeply into many aspects of day to day life. It certainly takes a while to disassociate the act of sparking up with one’s routine. Like Moonlight Shadow, I also only swapped tobacco for ecigs, but it was still the best thing I’ve ever done. Hats off to you for doing it properly though.

    Cigarette smoke will probably always smell appealing to me from a distance, but after over 2 years, I know I can’t stand the taste anymore and you can’t put a price on the health benefits and sense of wellbeing.

    The disproportionate desire to lamp people is usual and will hopefully pass soon! Clearly, being out on the hill is the safest place to be – no corner shops or folk to thump!

    Well done.

    • Thanks Jim. I have to admit to being at work one of the hardest aspects of giving up smoking, its those breaks in meetings, a treat after finishing a bit of work etc that get to you. I hope to be in the hills tomorrow free from people or corner shops!

Leave a Reply

