An early blast of winter on a moorland camp

by backpackingbongos

I woke up confused in the dark, a panicked moment when I could not find my headtorch.  I must have dozed off shortly after eating dinner, meaning to rest for a minute before taking Reuben out to do what dogs have to do.  That minute somehow morphed into an hour.  Wet trail shoes were pulled back on, sucking the warmth out of my feet.  Outside the oversized half moon had risen above the horizon, giving the moor an eerie orange glow.  Reuben sniffed around for a few seconds before heading straight back into the Trailstar, business not attended to.  I stood for a while, the only sign of civilisation being the distant A66, beams of light floating silently across the moor.  As with Reuben the cold soon got to me and I dashed back into my sleeping bag, down jacket kept on in an effort to fight off the first frost I have experienced for a few months.

23 Comments to “An early blast of winter on a moorland camp”

  1. Winter is coming, here’s hoping for some proper winter conditions, crisp snow and blue sky

    • I have my fingers crossed for that Andy, really looking forward to those crisp frosty days in the hills where the views are endless.

  2. No frosts here yet but otherwise winter is definitely on the way. Love the first photo.

    • Thanks Roger. I was putting up my shelter and everything was rather grey and dreary, suddenly the colours changed, a wonderful glow on the moors. It’s big sky country up there, nothing to interupt the eye for miles.

  3. A super looking spot there James.

  4. here’s to some o that clear sky awesomeness james!

  5. Nice spot but 5 litres !!!!

    • Actually in the morning I dumped 2 of those litres…….

      I wanted plenty for the dog and to wash up his grotty bowl after each meal so he could drink out of it (and so I did not need to carry a dirty bowl!). I get strangely anxious if I don’t have access to loads of water!

  6. Phew! 3 litres maybe, but 5 litres……

  7. Big open landscapes and heavy skys. Wonderful stuff.
    At least Reuben can keep you warm in the oooknest – he must be like an electric blanket
    🙂

    • You simply can’t beat those huge open landscapes Alan, love it. Reuben was well wrapped up in his fleecy cannine romper suit. He acts like a stinky hot water bottle…….

  8. Arctic Circle training paying off then? 🙂

  9. another box ticked in the ‘reasons I should purchase a trailstar’ list

  10. Hi James, not had much chance to catch on fellow bloggers recent activities. Lovely frost at home this morning- no sign of frost in the peaks this morning, but a beautiful day for a walk today. I am going to catch up on your blog ( and others), so expect a flurry of comments from me.:)

    • Hi Mark. Good to hear from you. Chrissie had said that you were thinking of heading to the Peaks this weekend, hope that you had a good one.

Leave a Reply

