Backpackingbongos is four today

by backpackingbongos

I just received a message from WordPress to tell me that it is four years to the day that I started this blog.  To me that’s pretty amazing considering my attention span.  I can’t really remember what motivated me to start blogging back then.  Outdoor blogs were still pretty thin on the ground, the numbers rocketing over the past couple of years.

I don’t think my style has changed much, maybe less gear related stuff.  Over the last year or so I have found gear increasingly boring to write about.  Exploring the wild places is what gives me a buzz so that is the content you get, like it or not!  I hope that people find these trip reports interesting and useful, the library of which is growing.  If you click the ‘Trip reports – backpacking’ and ‘Trip reports – day walks’ they are all neatly arranged into areas.

Anyway, thanks for reading and commenting the last few years. Without my regulars I would have given up a long time ago.

May our paths cross in the wildest, remotest and most desolate places!

32 Responses to “Backpackingbongos is four today”

  1. Yay for Backpackingbongos! Less gear, more action!

  2. Congratulations James, your blogs describing details of your wanderings are always interesting to read.

  3. Happy Birthday! It was your blog more than anyone else’s that made me start mine!

  4. Happy birthday have a drink on me – great blog hope it keeps on rolling for a lot more years 🙂

  5. Always a great read James, the blog that reaches the parts others didn’t know about. I like a bit of gear (especially when I’m in buy mode) but have to say I can’t bring myself to write them myself. Keep those adventures coming, always look forward to your reports

    • You can’t beat a rummage around the unforgotten corners of the UK Andy. I do like a nice bit of gear, but really can’t get much enthusiasm these days to write about it. Unless someone sends me something really really nice, I’ll pull my finger out then……………………..

  6. Happy birthday! keep it up James, always enjoy reading your posts.

  7. Happy birthday James, I always enjoy reading your blog, particularly the bothy trips and remote wild camps in Wales.

  8. Happy birthday Bongoman. Still going strong. Four years is really something given how often you go for a walk!

    • Cheers Dave, I don’t know what I would have to write about if I did not get out for a walk in the hills. It would just be a beard growing blog.

  9. Congratulations sir! Warmest best wishes for another 4!!

  10. Always an enjoyable read James and I look forward to many more posts in the future.

  11. A beacon within hill walking internet darkness.

  12. James – Happy Birthday from the Gulf of Thailand – perfect day here for a ride by the sea. Thanks for inspiring me to start a blog. Hope it never goes to video. More power to you James. Warren

    • Enjoying your blog a lot Warren, especially your recent S.E Asia bit. It’s a shame that we will miss you by a matter of weeks when we get to Thailand at the end of Feb. Enjoy the warmth!

  13. Always enjoy your posts James. “A beacon in internet darkness.” My, that’s some accolade.

  14. Happy Birthday BPB!

    Always enjoy popping in over here – your enthusiasm for the outdoors always shines through – whatever you chose to write about!

  15. Late reply I know. But I was unable to get a strong enough signal out at camp to post reply. Happy Birthday Blog!! 🙂 Hope to hook up with you again sometime soon James 🙂

    • Thanks Terry. Yep would be good to meet up again Terry, hopefully things will be a bit quieter for you once your winter Cairngorms filming is finished.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

