A big walk on Big Moor

by backpackingbongos

The clock really does seem to be ticking this year with regards to the approaching TGO Challenge.  After a Friday off work lounging in bed (due to complete laziness rather than illness) I decided that I really should make a half arsed attempt at getting fit.  I had backpacked the previous weekend but that turned into a bit of a slackpacking adventure, rather than gobbling up the miles as planned.

So early on the Saturday morning I took a rather excited Reuben to the nearest part of the Peak District, less than an hours drive away.  Most of my days on the TGO Challenge are around twenty to twenty five kilometres.  I thought that I should at least attempt that distance with a day pack.  I had also just got a new pair of Inov8 Flyroc 310’s.  After a few months in leather boots over the winter, it was a good opportunity to break them in and get my feet used to trailshoes again.

23.5 Kilometres with 630 metres ascent

Big moor

The car park below Birchen edge is one of those rare ones that remains free, you need to get there early to get a place.  Whilst enjoying a banana from the comfort of my car, I watched a group of ramblers kit up for what looked like an Everest expedition.  Reuben however had no interest in people watching and signalled his impatience from the back seat.  As we left the car park I admired the fact that one couple had brought stools so that they could put their walking boots on in comfort.  They even had matching bags to put their footwear in that looked to have been designed for that purpose (they were boot shaped).  People are fascinating creatures.

The path over the shoulder of Gardom’s edge to the main A621 is an enjoyable one, low open moorland followed by wooded slopes.  Crossing the road we then walked along the edge of some stunning grounds of a large house.  It’s all tumbling brooks and stones and trees and makes me feel rather jealous each time I pass through.  If I owned it I’m not sure if I would want unwashed ramblers walking through.

A sweaty climb in the dappled shade of woodland brought us to Baslow edge and the impressive Eagle stone.

P1040825

For the next few miles along first Baslow, Curbar and then Froggatt edges you are reminded that large conurbations are not very far away.  On this sunny day the place was heaving with every man, child and dog.  Although I do have misanthropic tendencies it is great to see so many people out enjoying such a great place.  It’s not somewhere to come to get away from it all, so with that mindset I enjoyed the hustle and bustle.  I wonder what Tracksterman would make of the place?  Reading his post dated April 8th gives me some idea……………..

Anyway, the views as we walked north were spectacular, somewhere where it is hard to resist the temptation to sit and gawp every now and then.

P1040827

P1040828

P1040830

P1040834

P1040833

P1040837

Another main road soon shattered the idyllic scene but was quickly left behind as we entered Hay wood.  Here Reuben involuntarily lost his virginity to an over enthusiastic labrador twice his size.  Worth the price of admission alone to watch the well spoken elderly owner trying to get it to dismount.  Reuben took this undignified intrusion into his walk in his stride, although I did notice some nervous backwards glances for a few hundred metres.

Our lunch time destination was Tumbling hill, a fantastic perch within access land but off most people’s radar.  An enjoyable half hour in the sun with a flask and a dog who had a keen interest in my sandwiches.

P1040839

P1040840

A short walk along the main road was followed by a pleasant track through the Longshaw Estate where Reuben was confronted by a mob of children who wanted to say hello.  I’m not really sure what he makes of little people, in Nottingham he views them as a free source of footballs.

Fox House to a pedestrian is an obstacle course of fast-moving traffic and badly parked cars on the verges.  It was with relief that the chaos was left behind for a walk across Totley Moor.  This was a place of lingering snow, deep and wet under the warm sun.  It was a bit of a struggle to be honest, especially in trail shoes which were soon cold and sodden.  The snow that did not hold would deposit me in the freezing cold bog hidden underneath.  There was a bit of cursing involved.

The trig point on Totley Moor at 395 metres was the highest point of the day, another pleasant spot to laze in the sun with Reuben.

P1040846

Descending towards Barbrook bridge via an ill-defined path the ground became marshy.  There is a distinctive feel to these eastern moors, a blend of fen and trees.  An area ignored by most as they head to the edges just a couple of miles away.

P1040850

The gate giving access to the track down Bar Brook was locked, barring the way to access land.  This was annoying and it was difficult hauling Reuben over the top.  A pedestrian access point really should be provided.

It’s a pleasant walk through the shallow valley and we managed to hop over the stream lower down to gain access to the expanse of Big Moor.  Here on a trackless walk to Swine Sty we came across a couple of standing stones that are not marked on the map.  For a moment I was transported to Dartmoor.

P1040853

P1040855

I had planned to walk the length of Birchen edge but tiredness and the desire to get home and order a curry got the better of me.  Instead we were accompanied by the clinking of climbing gear as we made our way back to the car under the wall of gritstone.

24 Comments to “A big walk on Big Moor”

  1. Perhaps you could get a team of TGOers to haul you across the Highlands in your bed? Sure it would be a first.

    I’m sure I read some of Tracksterman’s misanthropic scrawlings on Jura recently; he probably needs to get out less.

    In case anyone’s suspicions are aroused (cough) my over-enthusiastic Labrador was bowling around a park in Glasgow on Saturday. Dougal’s love for Reuben is solely of the Platonic variety.

    • Actually, just had a good look at Tracksterman’s site: he really does get out there, eh? Cracking pics as well.

    • That is a brilliant idea Pete, I’ll put a post on the message board asking for volunteers. Trackster man is always in the hills, often for months at a time, usually in winter. He has a great blog.

      Reuben was ‘loved’ by a golden lab creature that would have dwarfed Dougal.

  2. Enjoyed the report & the photos – Froggat Edge is somewhere I’d like to go & Tumbling Hill looks interesting too. I can’t believe what nice weather it was up there. We were hiking in Wales on Saturday and the weather was horrendous, high wind, driving rain and fog, weather so bad only one photo was taken!

    • Hi Ruth, this was the Saturday before last as it was definitely rubbish here last Sat as well. Froggatt is really accessible, one of those views without effort types of places.

  3. Good area to walk there James, looks like you had fine

  4. James, I can’t type properly and managed to post before I finished !! I was going to say Looks like you had fine weather – not long before the TGO – good luck with the training.

    • I do that with emails all the time, especially forget the important attachment at work. I think that I need to get some more training in for the Challenge as time is running out.

  5. It’s good to see Reuben recover from his sexual assault so quickly. Lovely pics James.

  6. Looks like a great day for a bit of training.

    I love that part of the world, but don’t get as often as I would like. And, when I do, it’s usually a weekend and very busy!

    I guess I can put up with the people in exchange for the wonderful scenery, but it would be nice to enjoy it during quieter times. I did, once, get to Higger Tor about 8.30am and – for a few minutes – had the whole place to myself. Bliss!

    • A wet Wednesday in November is the time to go Jules! It is lovely up there and I can see why so popular. Fox house itself is within the Sheffield City Boundary!

  7. Good to see ruben returning to the hills, I was concerned by his absense in the previous months.

  8. Reuben is so very handsome, he’s bound to attract his fair share of unwanted suitors……..

  9. reuben’s zen face! that’s a big smile. That trackster fella must be loving all the attention he gets. Never mind eh – enjoy the TGO!

    • Reubs does the Zen face rather well, living in the moment and all that. I do wonder if tracksuitman is aware of how often he gets mentioned? I will do my best to enjoy the Challenge. Cheers.

  10. Keep that training going! I love the Dark Peak edges, don’t get up there often enough. I’ve always done a circuit of these edges by returning along the river, the Totley Moor route looks better. See what you mean about Tracksterman, issues there I think but a great read 🙂

    • Next time you are in the Peaks give me a shout Andy as they are only a short hop away for me. Tracksterman is one of my favourite blogs, I do enjoy his rants……..

  11. Brings back old memories. I used to live in Calver many years ago, so lots of familiar territory. You can do a good walk of around 15 miles along Frogatt and Chatsworth to Matlock. When I lived there it was possible to get back from Matock to the starting point on the bus, but I have no idea if that’s still possible.

    • Hi Ian. It probably is still possible, but I imagine that you would need to catch more than one bus. Would be a cracking walk along the edges, I like a linear outing, much more satisfying.

Leave a Reply

