Wild camping – the one in a hundred weekend

by backpackingbongos

The actual walking this weekend often had me swearing and wondering to myself why I do such things.  Mostly this was when I was lurching through giant tussocks that were doing their best to break one of my legs.  All the time the sun was mercilessly beating down and with no shade I was a hot and sweaty mess.  To counter balance this the wild camping in between the lurching was simply sublime.

It really was one of those one in a hundred summer weekends.  The location, my frame of mind and the weather all combined to make the wild camping experience pretty much as good as it gets.  A write-up after I have finished the TGO Challenge posts.  In the meantime a few photos as a taster of wild camping heaven.  Summer only lasts for a few short weeks, grab your tent, pick a mountain and camp on it.

P1050188

It was worth carrying four litres of water up to the summit of Macaterick on a hot afternoon.  The views from this rugged little hill are superb and just got better and better as afternoon turned to evening and finally a midsummer twilight.  Darkness never fully arrived.

P1050195

Play spot the tent which is the same colour as many of the boulders on this craggy hill.

P1050205

The evening was so perfect and the midges still asleep that I slept with the door open.  At just gone 4.00am I opened my eyes and saw this from the comfort of my sleeping bag.  I should have got up and taken advantage to get THE perfect photo.  I snapped this without getting up and was soon back asleep.

P1050244

After descending the stupidly steep slopes in the background I was keen on getting pitched.  The southern ridge of Tarfessock provided the perfect place to do so.

P1050247

Another evening and night lounging with the doors open.  The sky was much moodier the second night, showing the huge whale backed hill of Corserine at its best.

22 Responses to “Wild camping – the one in a hundred weekend”

  1. Jealous! Domestic commitments are keeping me away from a backpacking trip. That 4am photo is sublime 🙂

    • If you do finally manage to get out Andy and fancy some company give me a shout. It was rather nice to wake to that sunrise, shame I was too lazy to get up though!

  2. Pretty idyllic looking that, but carrying 4 litres of water to the summit….! How far away from…? I’m sure it was worth it, but I’d have been going pretty slowly with all that extra weight 🙂

    • It was a bit of a haul from the river in the valley bottom to the top Chrissie. Glad I took it though as it was all used up by the time I set off the following morning. Yes it was heavy…………..

  3. Result! shame I was mostly indoors.

  4. That really does look lovely. I swear you spend more time in Scotland with every passing year…

  5. Memories that will last a lifetime.You definitely get the best rewards backpacking

    • I feel that you get more out of a trip if you sleep on the hills Andy. You get to immerse yourself and experience more than a day walk where you return home at the end of the day.

  6. The essence of wild-camping! I’ve not wild camped in Scotland yet – the concept sounds good, but you hear so many stories of the dreaded midge, that I’m not sure it would be enjoyable – though thankfully your walk was midge-free!

    • Give it a go Rob. Just avoid the summer months and you will avoid the midge. Before the end of May and after October and they should not bother you too much.

  7. Some wonderful situations and cracking views, especially the sunrise. Having not had an opportunity to wild camp in the mountains for months due to ongoing disc problems it does make me somewhat envious though.

    • Sorry to hear about the disc problems David. Are you still able to get out into the hills for day walks?

      • Yes James I am still getting out for day walks but not on the bigger hills as much, I just have to be careful not to overload if you know what I mean. I will be trying a gentle overnighter soon just to see how I get on.

  8. Magic, especially if you managed to avoid any insects

    • The biting variety did not provide too much bother. I was amazed though at the sheer abundance of other creepy crawlies. Loads of spiders, beetles, dragonfiles etc. Many rather colourful too.

  9. Damn James I am yet to read your TGOC stuff, and now you have been out again. Glad it was a good trip.

    • Get yourself to Galloway Martin, you will like it up there. Wait until Autumn though as the midges will soon be out in force. Start your TGO Challenge write up soon as well!

  10. James, fantastic looking trip. and great photos. Perfect!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

