My first snowy wild camp of 2014

by backpackingbongos

After a mild and dank winter I woke up on the first day of meteorological spring to this.

P1060756 (1)

Tags: ,

16 Comments to “My first snowy wild camp of 2014”

  1. Fantastic!

    Can’t get my head round this ‘first day of meteorological spring’ stuff though, spring starts on 21st March as far as I’m concerned…

    • That be the spring equinox that you are thinking about.

      • …….I know, but we were taught back at school in the 60s that the equinox was also the first day of spring……….just like the first day of summer is the 21st June etc…….

        (It’s a bit scary really, that at times I can be just as awkward as Geoff.)

  2. Chilly James, but good on you.

  3. I’m with Chrissie! The media have unilaterally seized the end of winter and turned it in to Spring and the end of Autumn (which is December 21st not the 1st )and turned it in to winter.

    despite the pedantry, nice photo James.

  4. Where are you camped? I’ve just come back from the lakes and there was a fair bit of snow there too!

  5. Lol – just read the other comments. You weren’t the chap that I bumped into on the crags due south of Angle tarn on Tuesday afternoon? Conditions were bad with poor bus, lots of snow. I kind of spotted the chap up on the ridge line and we exchanged waves. Can’t be that many people out there at this time of year? ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I feel cold (or perhaps just old) looking at that photo. Great to be out and not get wet though

  7. Weather can be crazy, and it has been getting increasingly crazier in recent years. Beautiful picture though!

Leave a Reply

