Whoops I did it again……….

by backpackingbongos

Maybe I have a dose of big trip blues? Yesterday I found myself perusing flights to Sweden. ‘Blimey that’s cheap a year in advance’ I thought to myself. This evening I could not resist, I’m going to Sarek again next summer. I managed to bag a flight from Manchester to Lulea with a change in Stockholm for £138.20. Coming home a flight from Lulea to Stockholm cost £60.20, the flight from Stockholm to Manchester being a daft £39.20. A total of £237.70 to get to just below the Arctic Circle and back. I have looked at the rail fare from Nottingham to the Kyle of Lochalsh (for the Isle of Skye), an off peak return costs £213. I feel that there are many more trips to Lapland to come.

I’m going to head into Sarek from the south next time. If the bus and train timetables remain the same I could be at the trailhead at Kvikkjokk in six hours from Lulea. I’ll have just a week next time and will be a little more adventurous. A route plan is coming along nicely………….

13 Responses to “Whoops I did it again……….”

  1. Ha! And why not?! Nice one James 😉 My own adventures are a little lesa ambitiouas than yours but I can see a trip to Sarek on my horizon sometime in the next few years. Managed to squeeze a five day trip to the Cairngorms out of the wife this Thursday and the TGO Challenge next year, so I reckon they’ll prepare the ground nicely for further adventures…

    • Five days in the Cairngorms and the TGO Challenge are perfect training for Sarek. It’s very similar to the Cairngorms 🙂 Enjoy your trip tomorrow.

  2. Brilliant James, now you have time to brush up on the basics of the Swedish language????

  3. Well done, James! I second Dawn. Your time and effort will be well spent, because then you will be able to read Grundsten’s book on Sarek, http://www.norstedts.se/bocker/utgiven/2010/var/grundsten_claes-pa_fjalltur_-_sarek-flexband/ (see also http://claesgrundsten.se/bocker/ )

  4. Last year we hiked in Finland during one week far to the North of the Arctic Circle.

    Enjoy hiking!

  5. Now that’s what I call advance Planning!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

