I’m on

by backpackingbongos

I received a welcome letter on Saturday. I have been accepted on my third* TGO Challenge, a Coast to Coast backpack across the Scottish Highlands next May.

I have already started playing around with routes and have decided on a southerly crossing this time round. The next few weeks will be spent looking at both paper and electronic maps, whilst trying to work out how to get across Scotland without expending too much energy. No heroics from me really as I’m approaching it as a fun relaxing holiday.

Those of you that enjoy spreadsheets detailing how many pairs of socks I plan to take along with lengthy posts on the benefits of different types of tent pegs** should look elsewhere. Life is too short.

I have to say that I am mildly excited. This may change to moderately excited come February and my route has been submitted.

*It’s actually my fifth but the one I completed in 2001 from Aviemore to the east coast during the Foot and Mouth Epidemic sadly does not count. I did get a nifty baby blue t-shirt for my endeavours though. I then took part again in 2003 but after four days I said ‘Sod this for a game of soldiers’ and went home. I was not allowed a t-shirt that year.

* *My tent pegs are grey by the way, but I do also have a few red ones.

19 Comments to “I’m on”

  1. I don’t remember seeing any red tent pegs – are you sure they’re not all grey?

  2. Nice one mate. We’re in again too, although Scott and I are bringing two newbies (like we have tons of experience!)

    Still looking at routes, thinking Lochailort to Dunnotter…. Hmmmm

    • Good to hear that Stuart. You planning on being in Braemar on the Saturday night?

      • Not sure yet- need to discuss routes with Russ as we are hoping to walk with him, Leo and Melvin (we met them in 2013 and have remained friends) at least part of the way.. but hoping to.. definitely be in Tarffside though!!

  3. Glad to that you got your letter eventually

  4. Shucks and i was so looking forward to a peg and tent guyline colour coding read too. I bet you change your mind.

  5. Fantastic James, that is going to mean more great photos and an entertaining write up.

  6. You do realise that if you start from Loch Broom at Sunrise and finish at Bonar Bridge at sunset you could feasibly do coast to coast in a day, save a lot of backpacking hassle. I guess that’s not really in the spirit though 🙂

    Look forward to the write ups as always

  7. Congratulations! It seems that all my favourite bloggers are on this year’s TGO! 🙂

  8. Pleased to see you got on again James, and look forward to seeing you en route.

Leave a Reply

