Archive for December 30th, 2009

December 30, 2009

A major expedition………..

by backpackingbongos

We are finally packed and ready to leave in the morning to spend New Year in a private bothy high on a Welsh hillside.  I am simply astounded at the amount of stuff that has been packed, it looks like we are going for a month rather than for a long weekend.  It’s strange to think that if I was solo backpacking all my gear including tent and food would fit in a 42 litre rucksack, yet staying in a bothy there is a pile of bags in the living room piled high.  If the track up is not driveable then we will be rather weighed down for the mile walk in.  For some reason my non outdoorsy partner does not seem as excited about spending a few days in snow and sub zero temperatures as I am……………………………..

Collect wood from the forest, chop it, burn it and drink some beers, what more can you ask for?  I have even dug out the ice axe in snowy anticipation.