Certified in the Peak District

by backpackingbongos

I found myself wandering to the shops on Friday wearing a pair of Crocs. The main issue is that I felt no shame in doing so. This clearly demonstrates that at least half of my life is now behind me. The first sign of this was late last year when I purchased a membership to the Camping and Caravan Club. This is the preserve of pensioners and people who put lamps and bunches of flowers on the table at the back of their caravans. Those not in caravans tow small cars behind large mobile homes (this is really just backwards caravan behaviour). I now walk amongst them, although quietly as the sites can resemble something from the Stepford Wives and I might get told off. The loos are nice and clean though.

Obviously manicured lawns, measured pitches and having Julia Bradbury as club president are all very well. The most alluring thing about membership is the Certified Sites. There are literally hundreds dotted around the country, tucked away in fields and farms. A maximum of five campervans or caravans and members only mean that they are nice and quiet. It’s proper old fashioned camping with the toilet in a barn and a big spider on the wall. You are also unlikely to have a kid called Tyson kicking their football at your tent.

There is a superb one just below Chrome Hill in the Peak District, which I visited with Reuben and Bona-fide pensioners Geoff and Chrissie a few weeks ago. Three dogs was no problem for the farmer and she put us in a field away from the cows. Free to roam Reuben still thought it best practise to avoid the labraloony and grumpy boxer (they are actual real dogs and not my nickname for Chrissie and Geoff).

A day walk was sandwiched between a couple of nights being fed by Geoff and drinking whisky in their van which has mod cons like heating. I had to drag myself away each night to the small and rather cold Bongo which felt like slumming it after being in their palace on wheels.

The walk was planned and led by Chrissie, selected from a guidebook called ‘The most neglected and overgrown paths in the Peak District’. The initial climb up Chrome Hill as always was a cracker. There then followed a succession of ‘paths’ that have not been walked this century and perhaps the last. We emerged back at the vans stung and bleeding but somehow still talking to each other.

To round off the day nicely Reuben found a large and very wet pile of fox poo to roll in. He was actually dripping in the stuff. I got the last laugh though with a bucket of cold water and loads of washing up liquid.

It then rained. The end.

P1080409

P1080417

P1080419

P1080422

P1080428

 

20141003_135408

P1080431

23 Comments to “Certified in the Peak District”

  1. We used to use these when we had a van. Sold now and back to hard core camping!

  2. My favourite campsite, outside those in the wilds, is the Morvich Caravan Club Site at Sheil Bridge.
    Superb location, facilities’ and very friendly staff and yes usually very quiet.

  3. I’d forgotten about getting stung through my trousers by head-high nettles…..and the near hubby-wife argument about White Peak navigation….
    And I hasten to add that those toilets were not the ones on the site!

  4. Thank you for that. We’ve just bought an old VW T4 camper to take us to Spain and I was running out of excuses to justify the purchase.
    Cheers, Alen

    • No need to justify that sort of purchase Alen! Would love to take the Bongo down to Spain but would have to re-mortgage the house to pay for the diesel.

  5. I bought a membership of the Caravan Club this year but couldn’t quite face going to any of their busy sites – so total waste of money which won’t be repeated! Then I stumbled across the Certified Location options and stayed in a field-with-electric-hookup out in the wilds near Lairg without even a leaky shed and resident spider. Luckily my van has a loo. None of it is as good as camping though.

    • Wild camping is always the best option. Stayed in the Eskdale site in the Lakes last December which was great as it was empty and I could hook up and have a heater in the van. Would never go to a campsite in summer!

  6. brilliant Peru, Peaks and poo

  7. Great pics, James. Do you have a flashy camera? I’ve just got a new one. Still point and shoot but it has adjustments for things with names like aperture and focus and white light and old blue eyes so I ought to learn more about these.

    • No flashy camera for me. Actually most of these photos were pretty duff, I just brutally cropped them and did some post processing in Aperture.

  8. PS. Surely they are alpacas nor lamas?

  9. I have a huge aversion to the Caravan Club – until maybe now! I had no idea about the Certified Sites – must look into this. Thanks for the tip-off.
    Ps. I also wear my pink crocs with no shame. Sometimes even with socks! They are great for the van.

    • Pink Crocs, now you’re talking! The certified sites can be great, got my eye on one in the Lakes that has electric hook-up but no loos. That should keep it pretty quiet.

  10. Fascinating James, and an interesting trip, complete with big, hairy beasties too.

  11. “Then it rained. The end” I liked that 🙂

Leave a Reply

