All packed and ready to go

by backpackingbongos

I am always suspicious when a major packing expedition goes smoother than anticipated.  The pile of gear that was on my bed this afternoon slipped nicely into my ULA Catalyst pack.  I had no idea of the weight so have just stood with it on the bathroom scales.  The total weight including 4 days food and enough fuel for a week is 13.7 kg.  The consumables in there (food and fuel come to about 3.5 kg) so a base weight of roughly 10kg for a two-week trip aint too bad.  I am sure that many would disagree!

Anyway it’s a long day tomorrow, my first train is at 6.40am and I eventually get into Shiel Bridge at 8.00pm.  A bar meal and a beer will be my reward at the end of the journey.

Unless something goes horribly wrong there will be radio silence for a couple of weeks.  However you can follow me on Twitter here.

Good luck and best wishes to all the other Challengers.

7 Comments to “All packed and ready to go”

  1. James, good luck and have fun. I hope your knees are OK on the trip 🙂
    Mark

  2. Have a great trip, James.

  3. Best of luck, hope the weather gods smile on you and don’t make it nasty

  4. What they said, have a good one 🙂

  5. Just started reading your blog, and have been enjoying it very much… good luck on your crossing. I look forward to reading the reports of how you get on!

    • Thanks! Just got back, it was hard work but worth it in the end. A write up will be along shortly……………..

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.