One of those days

by backpackingbongos

Yesterday was one of those days when things just don’t go how you would like them to.  In the morning I got the news with regards to the job interview the day before.  To be honest it was not what I wanted to hear, it went along the lines of thanks but no thanks.  I was partially consoled by being told that I was appointable, but at the end of the day someone else had more of what they were looking for.  Dream jobs only come along once in a blue moon.  It may be a long wait for the next blue moon.

Oh well, at least I had a gig to go to later that evening, tickets being purchased many months previous, excitement growing.  We got back from work, had an early dinner and did the hours drive down to Leicester to go and see Belle and Sebastian.  They tour very rarely and the fact that they were playing locally was a bonus.  We arrived at the venue to find out that the gig had been cancelled due to the lead singer being ill.  Gutted.

11 Comments to “One of those days”

  1. Sorry to hear about the job James.

  2. What a shame.It seems like it would have been a job that you could bring a lot to. However, the job you do is a job that makes a difference. My Fiona has an expression, a Glasgow colloquialism: ‘If it’s for you, it’ll not go by you’. No matter that some other bugger with a few more CV points, pipped you to it! All that and Stuart had a sore throat too. Bummer.

    What I prescribe, James, is a few days sublime solitude on Jura, it’s just the job. I’ll email you in response to your comment at writesofway tomorrow.

    All the best

  3. James – so sorry you didn’t get the job. Keep optimistic. In my experience things don’t always go the way you want to despite thinking you are best for that job. But a better opportunity can come along. I was made redundant from a company a numbers years ago, which I loved working for and felt that I was going to be there for the long term. I got another job, starting a new division, made into a separate company , I then bought this company with two other colleagues and it has gone well . At the time when I was made redundant, like you I felt gutted, but other opportunities will come along and you need to grasp them. They may end up better than your dream position.
    All the best
    Mark

  4. Sorry to hear that James – but as Mark says other opportunities *will* happen and then you will realise that life is there to be grabbed all over again. Good luck fella

  5. One word – Arse! I echo other comments, there will be other chances. all the best J

  6. James- At least they did not say that you were over qualified. A response that I had more than once to a jobs that I very much wanted. There are going to be very few perfect jobs that are presented to you. Self employment, teaching people how to travel, take photos and write a great blog that inspires would be an idea.

  7. The only superstition I have is that I believe, inexplicably, in fate – it does make any sense to the scientific part of my brain, but I cannot quite dismiss it from my consideration. It may just be that you were better off not getting this role, and that it would not have been for you – something better will suddenly become available and you’ll find yourself there instead. Either way, my commiserations for the moment – given how rubbish you must feel – but my high hopes for you in the future. Also – please email me on 34winchester at googlemail dot com when you get a chance.

  8. Bad luck, James. Better console yourself with some route planning…

  9. Thank you everyone for your kind words, it has made me feel better. I think that I will go along with the saying, “what will be will be”. My partner reminded me that the job involved the setting up of a new project and that it could have ended up being a bloody nightmare. I also now get to continue working 4 days a week which suits me just fine.

    Anyway it is now the weekend in Bongoland, that means I can go and play in the Peaks tomorrow, hopefully under blue skies with a dusting of snow on the ground. Nice.

  10. Tough luck there.
    Like Maz, I have a strong but unscientific sense of fate and that job may not have been right after all. You’ll never know for sure, but you’re on a different path now – go with your instincts.

Leave a Reply

